NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY MANIPUR LANGOL, IMPHAL

Minutes of the 7th Meeting of the Senate held on 09/12/2016

The 7th meeting of the Senate of NIT Manipur was held on 09/12/2016 at 11.00 AM at the conference hall, NIT Manipur, Langol campus and the following members were present:

1. Prof. S. Birendra Singh, Director, NIT Manipur	Chairman
2. Prof. Sukumar Nandi, IIT Guwahati	Nominated member
3. Prof. E. Bijoykumar Singh, Manipur University	Nominated member
4. Prof. S.C Saha, NIT Agartala	Member
5. Dr. Kh. Manglem Singh, Dean (AA), NITMN	Member
6. Dr. Y. Rohen Singh, Associate Dean (FW), NITMN	Member
7. Dr. P. Albino Kumar, Associate Dean (AA)	Member
8. Dr. Th. David Singh, Associate Dean (SW)	Member
9. Dr. Anil Kumar Birru, Associate Dean (R & C)	Member
10. Dr. Bakimchandra Oinam, Associate Dean, (P & D), NITMN	Member
11. Dr. Sangeeta Laishram, HOD, H&SS Deptt., NITMN	Member
12. Shuma Adhikari, HOD, EE Dept., NITMN	Member
13. Mr. Surajkumatr Singh, HOD, ECE Dept., NITMN	Member
14. Dr. Khelchandra Thongam, HOD, CSE Dept., NITMN	Member
15. Mr. H. Neeranjan Singh, HOD, ME Dept., NITMN	Member
16. R.K. Lalit Singh, Registrar, NIT Manipur	Secretary

Following members of the Committee were absent due to their personal reasons:

- 1. Prof. Sumitra Phanjaobam, Manipur University
- 2. Dr. Ibetombi Soibam, HOD, Physics Deptt., NITMN

At the outset, the Chairman welcomed all the members to the 7th Senate meeting.

The Chairman then initiated the discussion on the agenda items.

The Senate discussed all the following items in detail and resolved them as noted below.

Item No.	Description of the agenda	Resolution
1	Confirmation of the minutes of the sixth Senate held on 22/03/2016at NIT Manipur and action taken report so far.	Resolution 7/1: The Senate confirmed the minutes of the sixth Senate.
2	Award of BTech degree l. To recommend the award of BTech degree to those students who graduate BTech in 2016 (Enclosure 1, pp.2).	Resolution 7/2(I): The senate recommended the award of BTech degree to those students who graduate BTech in 2016.
3	Award of MTech degree I. To recommend the award of MTech degree to those students who graduate MTech in 2016 (Enclosure 2, pp.4).	Resolution 7/3(I): The senate recommended the award of MTech degree to those students who graduate MTech in 2016.
4	Award of MSc degree I. To recommend the award of MSc degree to those students who graduate MSc in 2016 (Enclosure 3, pp.6).	Resolution 7/4(I): The senate recommended the award of MSc degree to those students who graduate MSc in 2016.
5	Award of PhD degree 1. To recommend the award of PhD degree to those students who graduate PhD in 2016 (Enclosure 4, pp.7).	Resolution 7/5(I): The senate recommended the award of PhD degree to those students who graduate PhD in 2016.
6	Award of Gold Medals I. To recommend the award of Chairman's Gold Medals to Overall Toppers in BTech, MTech and MSc (Enclosure 5, pp. 8) II. To recommend the award of Institute's Gold Medals to Departmental Toppers in BTech, MTech and MSc (Enclosure 5, pp. 9)	Resolution 7/6(I): The Senate recommended the award of Chairman's Gold Medals to Overall Toppers in BTech, MTech and MSc. Resolution 7/6(II): The Senate recommended the award of Institute's Gold Medals to Departmental Toppers in BTech, MTech and MSc.
7	Elective Subjects I. Approval of Elective Subjects of BTech (Civil Engineering) (Enclosure 6, pp. 10, 13). II. Approval of 'Research Methodology' as a compulsory subject in PhD course work for those students with MSc and MA background to fulfil the requirement of UGC norms. III. Approval of new elective subjects of MSc/PhD (Mathematics) (Enclosure 7, pp 19). IV. Approval of additional and modified elective subjects of MSc (Physics) (Enclosure 8, pp 22). V. Approval of subject code correction of BTech&MTech Mechanical Engineering (Enclosure 9, pp 33). VI. Approval of Elective subjects of B. Tech Mechanical Engineering	Resolution 7/7(I): The Senate approved the BTech (CE) Semester VII electives and advised to resubmit Semester VIII electives with proper subject codes and units. Resolution 7/7(II): The Senate approved Research Methodology as a compulsory course subject for PhD scholars who need to fulfill UGC norm. Resolution 7/7(III): The Senate advised to resubmit the MSc/PhD(Math) electives with proper subject codes and units. Resolution 7/7(IV): The Senate advised to resubmit the MSc(Phy) electives with proper subject codes and units. Resolution 7/7(V): The Senate approved subject code correction of BTech&MTech (ME). Resolution 7/7(VI): The Senate approved the BTech (ME) Semester VII electives and advised to resubmit Semester VIII electives with proper subject codes and units.
8	Newly admitted BTech, MTech, MSc and PhD students I. Approval of newly admitted students in BTech, MTech,	Resolution 7/8(I): The Senate approved newly admitted students in BTech, MTech, MSc and
9	MSc and PhD in 2016 (Enclosure 10, pp. 42). List of BTech students not registered I. Approval for termination of BTech students who have not registered till now (Enclosure 11, pp. 57).	PhD in 2016. Resolution 7/9(I): The Senate approved to terminate BTech students who have not registered till now.



7th Senate Minutes 9th December, 2016, NITMN

10	Misc	Resolution 7/10(1): The Senate approved to fix
j (I. Approval to fix the pass marks at 50% of the total marks	the pass mark at 50% for entrance examination
	in the written examination for unfilled seats of MTech (after	for non-GATE and non-JAM.
	CCMT through GATE) and MSc (after CCMN through JAM)	
	/	Resolution 7/10(II): The Senate approved the
	II. Approval of Academic Calendar 2017 (Enclosure 12, pp 58)	Academic Calendar 2017.
	III. To recommend Contingency for PhD scholars to Rs 20,000/ (Enclosure 13, pp60) IV. To permit first 3 toppers of MSc.	Resolution 7/10(III): The Senate recommended contingency to Rs 20,000/
(Physics/Chemistry/Mathematics) of NIT Manipur and other universities/institutes on merit without scholarship for non NET/non GATE and explore possibility to give advertisement for PhD for winter session. V. Transfer of PhD scholar from NIT Agartala to NIT Manipur (Enclosure 14, pp 61)	Resolution 7/10(IV): The Senate decided to retain the same eligibility criteria for all students.	
	advertisement for PhD for winter session.	Resolution 7/10(V): The matter was dropped.
	Manipur (Enclosure 14, pp 61)	

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Dr. S. Birendra Singh)
Director, NIT Manipur
Ex-Officio Chairman, Senate
National Institute of Technology Manipur